PhD and Masters students

Daniel Winter completed his B.Sc. and M.Sc. at the University Paris Diderot and is now undertaking his Ph.D. research project at the SBI. His work focuses on the regulation of protein methylation and the interplay between methylation and phosphorylation. Using a variety of molecular biology, network analysis and proteomics techniques, he aims to uncover novel mechanisms behind the regulation of protein-protein interactions and cellular functions. Whenever he has a break, Daniel sneaks into the field of philosophy of science.
Joshua Hamey completed his B. Adv. Sci. at UNSW in 2013 and began his PhD in 2014. His work focuses on employing mass spectrometry-based techniques in order to discover and characterise novel protein methyltransferases in yeast and human.
Aidan Tay graduated with a BE(Bioinformatics) and MS in Biomedical Engineering from UNSW. He has been involved in genome assembly and annotation of the Campylobacter showae bacteria. His current work at SBI looks at developing tools for integrating genomic, transcriptomic and proteomic data.
Daniela Smith completed her B. Adv.Sc.(Hons First Class) with the Systems Biology initiative in 2015. During her PhD she will be investigating high throughput techniques to discovering protein-protein interactions that are modulated by post-translational modifications. She aims to develop techniques involving protein crosslinking and mass spectrometry (XL-MS) to unveil a dynamic yeast interactome.
Ryan Salinas graduated with a BE(Bioinformatics) from UNSW. He has been involved in annotation of the koala (Phascolarctos cinereus) transcriptome. His Masters work is being conducted with the help of Dr. Zhiliang Chen and currently deals with the assembly and annotation of the koala genome, specifically the koala retrovirus (KoRV).

Honours and undergraduate research students

Ryan Separovich is currently completing his Honours Project at the SBI as part of a B. Adv. Sci. His work utilises mass spectrometric techniques to investigate substrate recognition motifs of the yeast arginine methyltransferase, Hmt1, and its human ortholog, PRMT1.

Alumni of SBI

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Dr Sarah Kummerfled (CJ Martin Fellow), Dr David Fung, Dr Melissa Erce, Dr Zhiliang Chen, Dr Natalie Twine

Ph.D students

Dr. Ignatius Pang, Dr. Melissa Erce, Dr. Jason Low, Dr. Timothy Couttas, Dr. Apurv Goel, Dr Lelin Zhang, Dr Daniel Yagoub, Dr Natalie Twine, Dr Samantha Chia, Dr Simone Li

Co-supervised Ph.D. students

Dr. Nandan Deshpande (Macquarie), Dr. Sarah-Jane Schramm (Sydney)

Masters by Research students

Philip Brown, Wei-Tse Hsu, Daniel Winter, Samantha Chia

Honours students

Dhanushi Abeygunawardena (University Medal), Edwin Ho (University Medal), Amy Lo (University Medal), Liang Ma (University Medal), Archana Chandeskaran, Emily Bek, Ricky Chang, Angela Chen, Timothy Couttas, Apurv Goel, Joshua Hamey, Emily Hogan, Kathlen Huang, Adam Lee, Simone Li, Daniela-Lee Smith, Aidan Tay, Sally Tang, Andrey Verich, Boer Xu, Daniel Yagoub, Chengying Yuan, Lelin Zhang, Jack Zhou, Daniella-Lee Smith

Summer studentships and internships:

Edwin Ho, Samantha Chia, Archana Chandeskaran, Dhanushi Abeygunawardena, Aidan Tay, Joshua Hamey, Jonas Möcking, Ryan Salinas, Melanie Bird, Derrick Lau, Curtis Cai, Manan Shah, Chris Liang, Daniel Weissberger, Marie Montgomery

Practicum students

Anke Penno (Germany), Florian Breitwieser (Austria), Michael Filarsky (Germany), Thore Rohner (The Netherlands), Daniel Winter (France)